UGC Accredits Four HEIs

The University Grants Commission (UGC) Nepal has taken decision to accredit additional four HEIs for the institutional quality assurance. The accredited HEIs are Mid-western University School of Management (MUSoM), Madan Bhandari Memorial College (MBMC), Manmohan Memorial Institute of Health Sciences (MMIHS) and Bagiswori College (BC). Among these MUSoM is from Surkhet district followed by MBMC and MMIHS from Kathmandu and BC from Bhaktapur district.

The accredited HEIs were awarded with the '*Certificate of Institutional Accreditation*' by the UGC Chairperson Prof. Dr. Dev Raj Adhikari in formal ceremonies held at the UGC seminar hall in different dates. First ceremony was organized by EQAAC's Secretariat on January 5, 2025 (Poush 21, 2081 BS) to accredit MMIHS and BC. Similarly, second award ceremony was organized on January 9, 2025 (Poush 25, 2081 BS) to accredit MUSoM and MBMC. During these ceremonies, UGC Chairperson Prof. Dr. Dev Raj Adhikari, Secretary Prof. Shankar Prasad Bhandari, Vice-Chancellor of Mid-West University (MU) Prof. Dr. Dhruba Kumar Gautam, Registrar Prof. Dr. Shobhakhar Kandel, Dean of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) Prof. Dr. Mohan Raj Sharma, PRT Team leaders, Technical Advisor of UGC, PRT Members, Director of EQAAC Secretariat, IQAC Director of TU, authorities from accredited institutions, and UGC officials were present among others.

As per EQAA Regulations -2017, the validity of one cycle of accreditation is five years. However, accredited HEIs have to undergo yearly review.

Profile of Accredited HEIs

1) Bagiswori College, Bhaktapur



(SSR) received approval on Poush 6, 2076.

Bagiswori College was established in 2064 B.S. and is situated in Bhaktapur Municipality (9), Bhaktapur, Bagmati Province. It set the record of being the first accredited HEI in the Bhaktapur District. It is a community campus affiliated to Tribhuvan University. The campus offers academic programs such as BA, BBS, MA and MBS. The institution embarked on its First cycle of the accreditation journey with the submission of a Letter of Intent (LOI), which was accepted on Bhadra 21, 2072. Subsequently, its self-study report

2) Manmohan Memorial Institute of Health Sciences, Kathmandu

Manmohan Memorial Institute of Health Sciences was established in 2064 B.S. and is under private ownership located in Kathmandu Metropolitan City (13), Kathmandu, Bagmati Province. It is affiliated to Tribhuvan University; the campus offers academic programs at both the bachelor and master level in the B. Sc. MLT, B. Pharmacy, BPH, B. Sc. Nursing, BNS, M. Sc. Clinical Biochemistry, Master of Nursing (MN), and MPH programs. The journey of accreditation for the first cycle began with the submission of a Letter



of Intent (LOI) and its acceptance on Srawan 17, 2075. The self-study report (SSR) of the campus was accepted on Falgun 4, 2078.

3) Madan Bhandari Memorial College, Kathmandu



Madan Bhandari Memorial College was established in 2057 B.S. and is situated in Kathmandu Metropolitan City (10), Kathmandu, Bagmati Province. It is a community campus affiliated to TU. The campus offers academic programs such as BA, BBS, BCA, BBM, BScCSIT, and MA. The institution embarked on its first cycle of the accreditation journey with the submission of a Letter of Intent (LOI), which was

accepted on Bhadra 21, 2072. Subsequently, its self-study report (SSR) received approval on Chaitra 12, 2080.

4) Mid-West University School of Management, Surkhet

Mid-West University School of Management (MUSOM) was established in 2019 A.D. and is located in Birendranagar Municipality (8), Surkhet, Karnali Province. It is a school of MU. The campus offers academic programs such as BBA and MBA. The journey of accreditation for the first cycle began with the submission of a Letter of Intent (LOI) and its acceptance on Ashad 24, 2075. The self-study report (SSR) of the campus was accepted on Falgun 5, 2076.



Each institution embarked on its accreditation journey by submitting a Letter of Intent (LOI) and subsequently went through all the necessary stages of the QAA process, which include approving their self-study report (SSR), peer review team (PRT) formation, undergoing assessment visits, i.e., preparatory assessment visits and final PRT visits, and the submission of a response report based on the recommendation provided during the assessment. Following this, the Educational Quality Assessment and Accreditation Council (EQAAC) recommended the UGC Board to award accreditation to the institution. The UGC Board decided to award accreditation to Bagiswori College on Poush 2, 2081, Manmohan Memorial Institute of Health Sciences on Poush 11, 2081, and two other institutions on Poush 18, 2081.